6Killer

June 26, 2008

Considering that they list Johnny Cash, Elvis Presley, Clint Eastwood and Spaghetti westerns among their influences, I really shouldn’t like 6Killer. Because neither Cash nor Presley’s music have ever interested me much, and westerns bore me to death, especially those starring Eastwood.

Yet, here I am, posting about 6Killer anyway because yes, I do like them. Even though I shouldn’t. Gah! Their music can be described as a fusion of soul, blues and rock but don’t let their sound fool you – 6Killer don’t hail from some outlawed western town in America, but dreary old Sweden (I’m Swedish, so I get to say that). Other than that I don’t know much about them so I’ll just copy and paste this little introduction from their Myspace:

And the visual aesthetics and the suggestive sound landscape takes us on a psychedelic safari through Greasy strip joints, Rock n´roll clubs, Las Vegas neon signs and Mexican villages populated by desperados, pistoleros, mariachis and senoritas satanicos. – No ladies and gentlemen, it´s not a new Tarantino-Rodriguez cooperation nor a new psychedelic substance – It’s just 6Killer bringing back the sound of the city of sin.

~ “Way Down To Mexico”, “Hot Sun” ~

7 Responses to “6Killer”

  1. Sean said

    I disapprove of not liking Cash, Presley and Spaghetti Westerns, but approve of the way Swedes apparently say Mexico – ‘Mequeeko’.

  2. Cecilia said

    Ha ha, yeah I don’t know what’s up with that – I sure don’t pronounce it that way.

  3. Kip said

    I’m with Sean. I thought you were smart?!

  4. Sean said

    Maybe it’s some sort of artistic license they take when they sing…’down to mequeeko’

  5. Kip said

    That’s the best you got?! WTF?

    🙂

  6. Cecilia said

    I told you you’d be dissapointed!

Leave a Reply

