The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

January 8, 2008

Every now and then I have a little freak out over the music that’s slipping under my radar. Not that I’m complaining over the amount of music that’s available, but it can be hard to keep up sometimes. Most of the stuff I find is probably due to luck combined with a hefty does of curiosity.

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart is another band for me to file in the “oh-look-what-I-happened-to-find-but-just-as-easily-could-have-missed-while-others-probably-have-listened-to-them-since-forever” category. Their song “Doing All the Things That Wouldn’t Make Your Parents Proud” was recently spotlighted as “one of the best pop-songs of the year” by a fellow Swedish music writer, so naturally that caught my greedy attention.

So, what do they sound like? Imagine The Ramones adding a soft-voiced sister to the band, and then going shoegaze. Sort of. Or just a couple of New Yorker’s having “16 Lovers Lane” by The Go-Betweens on repeat and deciding to make their own dreamy noise-pop. Either way, it’s really good.

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart have an EP out now, and are set to tour Europe this year.

2 Responses to “The Pains of Being Pure at Heart”

  1. Sean said

    Fantastic catch Ceci! I really like this.

  2. Kip said

    I read a nice little review about this band in The Big Takeover recently, but never checked them out afterwards. Fantastic stuff!! Did you happen to notice that one of the band members was named Kip? He’s even from Wisconsin!! Don’t believe me? Go to my Myspace and check my photo comments.

    16 Lovers Lane, eh?! I always thought you were the bees knees, Ceci…the mention of that album makes me think you’re even cooler!!

Leave a Reply

